I have been thinking about this blogging thing. I used to be really good at it and then when I got sick two years ago my blogging became rather sporadic and I just never got back into the habit. I am sure that a lot of people would have liked to have read about my experience of going through a hysterectomy because of endometriosis. I am sure others would have found some inspiration in hearing about the liver problems from having taking prescription NSAIDs for a number of years for fibromyalgia, bursitis and arthritis. I am also confidant that the story of undergoing gall bladder surgery without pain  medication would have fascinating to at least one person. After all, most people that I knew looked at me like I was nuts.

I remember reading on Twitter about wrestler CM Punk talking about having surgery on his arm without pain medication. I said to anyone around me who would listen, “Who goes through surgery without pain medication? Oh…wait. Never mind.”  It’s not like I had the sort of pain medication for hysterectomy that the doctor wanted me to have. I can’t take narcotics without bad things happening like lack of breathing so I went through surgery with nothing but the pain meds that I took for my fibromyalgia. Let me tell you, abdominal surgery pain is the worst pain ever. You know when you go to the doctor or the emergency room and they ask you about you pain level on a scale of 1 to 10. Abdominal surgery is my 10. Dislocated knee comes in at a 9.5.

Why didn’t I blog about these things? I didn’t think they were all that interesting. I know there are people who make a big deal out of things like this and chronicle their recovery and their feelings and how they adjusted but that’s not me. There was no “I feel ____ about having a hysterectomy.” I was relieved to no longer be in pain and sick from it. That’s all there was. I knew for a number of years that the day was going to come and I was really okay with. There has been no mourning of “But I will never be able to have kids again” or anything like that. I am good.  The gall bladder surgery was the same way. It was no big deal. I didn’t even know that I had problems with my gall bladder until the scan of my liver showed that it was “irritated”.  My surgeon looked like Weird Al and when he talked to me in the recovery room I was told that it should have come out years ago because it had pretty much quit working long ago. Feelings about it all? Happy not to be sick any more.

I wish that I could make a huge story or production out of these things, but I can’t. I don’t see the story in them.

Just like when I started blogging I thought that I would write about what it was like being the parent of special needs kids and homeschooling them. Yea, there’s a story there. A huge one. But so many people do that and I just don’t see the story. I am not going to sit here and talk about how we have to do everything on our own and how we never got services for the kids but on some level it sounds like whining to me. I don’t whine. It accomplishes nothing. Besides, punks don’t whine. So I have been left with “What should I write about? I am not writing.”

I came across this picture on Facebook the other day…

It’s the Avengers in case no one recognizes them without their snazzy superhero costumes. Actually I think that one guy back there is George Kirk, The dad of James T. Kirk in the Star Trek reboot…Yes, I know, could I be a bigger geek/nerd? I hear that all the time.

Anyway, I thought about this and yes, I should be writing. I worked seriously as a freelance writer before having most of my optional organs removed and just never really went back to it. I started a book that is about 1/4th of the way done that I have yet to finish. Why am I not writing?

But I am … I am writing blog entries for my Astrology and Tarot business (Second Star Astrology). I am writing for a Sims 3 magazine. I do some sort of writing every day. It’s just not necessarily always the writing that *should* be doing. I neglect my blog horribly. I don’t know what to write about. I don’t know what people want to read about that I would write about. I know that there are people who find my life exciting and wonder how I manage seven kids with special needs, food allergies and that I homeschool on top of it. I find my life boring and not worth writing about. (Maybe people could start asking me questions on Formspring – link on the right in my social networking button farm – and I could start answering those questions to give me something to blog about.) I can’t always think of stuff to write about for my Astrology and Tarot site. I haven’t written anything on my Sims site for some time…I think I have some weird form of Writers ADD. I am just really all over the place and have a number of projects going on at once and work on one until I get bored with it than move on to something else for a while then work on the first thing again and you get the idea. I really need to find a way to deal with this. It’s counter-productive.

 

