I am a hard person to offend, so imagine my surprise when I walked into the grocery store and seen something so disrespectful, so uncouth, so offensive that I just stopped dead in my tracks. What in the world could be that offensive at a grocery store, you ask? How about this monstrosity:

No, your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you, that is a 9-11 “celebration” cake that says “In Remembrance 9-11-01”. Oh, it didn’t end there, they special 9-11 cookies as well. This was one of those things that I had to take a picture of to prove to people that a major grocery store was insensitive enough to make.

Giant Food actually thought that it would be totally cool to make cake for people to celebrate 9-11 with. Look at that cake, it’s designed for celebration, complete with confetti sprinkles and balloons in patriotic colors. I always thought that balloons, sprinkles and cake were reserved for happy occasions like birthdays or maybe a 4th of July cookout, not to remember a terrorist attack where 2996 people lost their lives. Who in the hell was thinking that almost three thousand people died ten years ago and that we should throw a party celebrating that? Who in the hell gave the go ahead for this cake? Better yet, how many of these things were made and how many of them were bought?

Despite 9-11 being declared Patriot Day, patriotism isn’t the big thing that we think about when we think about 9-11. We think of the needless life of human lives. We remember the images from the news of airplanes crashing into the World Trade Center or the gaping hole in the Pentagon. 9-11 was a very depressing day, and not one that too many people are going to feel the need to celebrate with cake.

UPDATE: I sent the following email off to Giant Food after posting this blog.

I would like to congratulate Giant Food for going above and beyond the call of duty in being both disrespectful and insensitive. I am a very hard person to offend, however, upon walking into your store listed above, I was shocked beyond words. As soon as I walked into the store there was a display table with cake, cookies and cupcakes celebrating 9-11. Yes, I said celebrating. Cupcakes covered in red, white and blue frosting, cookies made to look like flags and the ever so awesome cake with balloons and confetti sprinkles that read in blue and red icing, “In Remembrance 9-11-01”. Balloons and confetti are usually decorations we reserve for things like birthdays and baby showers, not 2996 lives lost in a terrorist attack. While I understand the sentiment behind celebrating Patriot Day, it is really a day of mourning, not a day of celebration. I am disappointed that Giant missed the mark by having these cakes and cookies made in a marketing attempt to capitalize on the horrible events of 9-11, as this is not the sort of event that we mark with festive cakes and parties.

