This was the blog that I was going to post yesterday when I got home but didn’t get that far.  I need more hours in the day and less need for sleep.  Spending time running errands and being out in the cold made me need a nap when we got home.

Friday I returned to the cardiologists office for my echocardiogram and 24 hour heart monitor.  The doctors weren’t in, being at their other office, and I learned that the office staff is really disorganized and really not very personable when the doctors aren’t in.  Seriously, I should not be asked why I am there and I should not have to remind the staff, before I leave, that I need a heart monitor.  I really hope that their other office runs more smoothly.

The tech that did the echo was pretty rough with me.  She pressed down so hard with the ultrasound scanner thingy that she caused me a lot of pain.  I handle pain well, probably too well, and I found this to be too much.  I was not happy.

After we left he office my husband said something to me that this was the second time they didn’t ask for a co-pay.  This sent me off on a tangent about our insurance company.  I am sure that every year when it’s time for his employeer to re-negotiate health insurance benefits that someone goes through all the claims that were filed and makes a spreadsheet reflecting what benefits were used and how many times and things like the  following decisions are made:

  • Lots of prescriptions and people aren’t using  the mail refill program.  Drug co-pays will go up.
  • We cover two fertility treatments in a persons lifetime.  This stuff is expensive as hell and no one is using it.  People know it’s expensive and most insurance companies won’t cover it so we will let them keep that one.
  • Epi-pens are expensive and we have a number of families that need a number of them.  They can have the largest co-pay on them but in exchange, since no one is going to a cardiologist, we will let them have that one co-pay free in exchange.

I remember a time we didn’t have a co-pay on epi-pens.  I get annoyed when, a few times every year, we get something from the drugs by mail prescription program through our insurance company wanting us to get generic drugs at a reduced price through the mail.  That’s all well and good but when you have to have name brand drugs because the generic contains wheat and you have celiac disease it’s not an option.  So, since we don’t take advantage of this I often feel like we are getting punished by higher drug co-pays.

Don’t get me wrong, I am glad we have insurance.  I get very ill when I think of what would happen if we didn’t.  Some of my husbands drugs cost hundreds of dollars for a month supply without insurance.  Is it any wonder that pharmaceutical companies make billions of dollars a year?

My daughter made an awesome assessment a few days ago.  “I don’t understand why the stuff is so expensive.  Don’t these people realize that if you can’t get your meds you will die and then there will be no one around to buy your insurance and you won’t make money?”

