Another day missed.  We were out all day yesterday.  By that I mean we left the house at about 8:00 am and didn’t get home for good until 9:30 pm.  It was one of those days.  Today I am going to make up for it by writing two blogs.  Not sure that is within the Post-a-Day rules, but I tend to think of the rules much like Captain Jack sees the Pirate Code, it’s more of a guideline.

So, yesterday I had two doctors appointments.  The first was with the cardiologist.  She’s Russian-Polish best I can tell.  Her surname dates back to “The Old Country” when parts of Poland and Russia were the same country.  She went to school in Warsaw but I don’t recognize her accent as being Polish is the thing.  I have a Polish aunt who married into the family that told some of the worst Pollack jokes.  The one that always stuck with me was

How can you tell where a Pollack lives?  There’s a diving board over the sewer.

That is just the kind of person she was.  I guess you would have to be half crazy, at least, to marry into my mothers side of the family where everyone is bat-shit insane.

Anyway, I like the doctor.  I don’t think this has ever happened before.  I love my GP.  I really like my gyn and now I like my cardiologist.  I normally hate doctors because they tend to have that “I am better and smarter than you because I went to medical school and you didn’t” God complex.  I remember a number of years ago I snapped at a doctor for being patronizing to me and told him, “Look, I was a pre-med student who left because of a high-risk pregnancy.  I sat through all the same biology and anatomy classes you did.”  Yea, his attitude changed quickly.  Don’t look at me and make a snap decision about me based on how I look and what I have chosen to do with my life.  Those looks are very deceiving.

Next week I have to go back for an echocardiogram and a 24 hour heart monitor.  Oh joy.

I also spent some time with our dentist who I also happen to like.  What is this world coming to?  That’s another doctor I like and I might as well add to the list our entomologist.  He is awesome!  I mean really really awesome! This is really getting scary here.  So…the dentist.  Had three teeth filled and my mouth is still sore.  I don’t remember being in pain the following day from dental work.  I blame the fibro.  It really messes with how I feel things and pain tends to hang around longer than it should.  I have 6 more fillings to go.  It’s really not nearly as bad as it sounds.  He’s removing all the silver fillings in my mouth and replacing them with something that’s not going to leach mercury into the body.  Yea, my fillings are that old.  So, I have to go through this mouth numbing thing two more times for fillings and then for a root canal.  That’s the bad part of it all.  All old fillings replaced, a few small new cavities to take care of (and I do mean small) and a root canal.  I also have to get my teeth scraped and they numb up your mouth for that as well because of what has to be done so that’s being done at the time of my other fillings where I don’t have to keep getting numbed up and going through a bit of pain here, a bit there.  Going to do it all at once.  Right side and then left side.  They won’t do it all at once because I need one side of my mouth to eat on.  That’s something else.  I was ready a message board a while back where everyone was talking about how bad their teeth had gotten since being dx’d with fibro.  Some doctors seem to think that the two things go together.  It will be interesting to see if any research is done on that and what it shows.

<geek mode>

I also went up to one of my local geek stores.  It’s funny because I have to go to two different places.  Game Parlor has all the DnD stuff and some of the Magic stuff (basic booster packs, pre-con decks and fat packs, sleeves and cards) and Painted Visions has all the Magic stuff you could ever want along with the occasional comic book I am looking for.  I was at Painted Visions getting cards for the squirrel deck I am building.  There is an endless supply of mythical creatures I can pick from to build a deck around and I pick squirrels.  Something seems wrong about that.  In my defense though, I have put together a dragon deck.  I picked up the last dragon that I wanted for it yesterday as well, Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon.  It’s drawn by Chippy.  I would love to have a few more copies of this card, one for my Chippy/Zombie Fanboy deck and one for my infect deck.  I can’t justify $15.00 a card though for the Zombie Fanboy deck.  It was put together for amusement purposes only, much like my second goblin deck that was put together based on flavor text that made me laugh, and while it works, it doesn’t work well.  But that isn’t the point of the deck.  The point of those two decks is my amusement.  That’s actually the point behind the squirrel deck I am building, my amusement, because I think the idea of beating someone at Magic with a herd of squirrels is funny.

When I went in I asked if I needed to wait for Tom to be in to get the cards I needed and the store owner ended up helping me.  The funny thing is, he ended up calling Tom to tell him what cycles to pull the cards from and how much they were.  If Tom ever left the shop it would be doomed.  Tom is a living MTG/comic book wiki.  On the phone the owner told him, “There is this crazy girl in here with a purple mohawk putting together a squirrel deck…”  I could hear Tom on the other end “GEORGA!”  Yep, he knows me.

Since the cards that I needed were older and harder to find they didn’t have everything I needed so I had to order some stuff from MTGMintCard and from eBay.  This is why I prefer to make decks with the cards I have at my disposal instead of putting a lot of thought into the decks like this and tracking down cards.  It’s too much of a pain in the butt and it can become costly.  I actually thought about it for a number of weeks and debated between getting the Fire and Lightening deck where I could modify that deck for use with my dragons or put together the squirrels.  Squirrels won.   It’s more my sort of thing than something pre-constructed, no matter how good the deck is.  And it is good.  I have seen it in action.  Now that I have gotten together the cards that are going to give me squirrels, I need to figure out what else I am putting with them.  I have a good idea of what I am going to do with it, I just didn’t think this part through when looking for cards.

</geek>

Today I plan on working on some Sims 3 machinima.  I am not going to tell what it is but I will post the video when it’s done.  I think it’s going to turn out well.  The idea actually came to me yesterday while going from here to there when the song I am going to use came on the radio.  That is how most things come to me.  Out of nowhere.  Stay tuned.

