Last night between asking my husband to run out to CVS to get me another neti pot and between going to bed I had something I wanted to blog about.  I am sure it had something to do with the shooting in Arizona or my trip to the doctor or Ophiuchus but I never wrote down what it was, cleaned out my nose and went to bed.  I was sure I would remember it today, but I can’t.

Now, I know someone is thinking, “What is a neti pot?”  I mean, I didn’t know what one was until two years ago after seeing it mentioned during a writing job that I had.  I had to google it.  It’s this little teapot shaped thing that you put saline rinse in and stick up your nose to clean out all the magic nose goblins and their waste.  The idea is to tilt your head in such a way that the saline goes in one nostril and out the other.  If you don’t get this part right, it tastes like you swallowed ocean water.  Now someone is thinking, “That’s disgusting.  Who gives one away and who would take it?”  The answer my husband and my neighbor.  Kris practically lived here over the summer during his unemployment.  We watched movies, played DnD and Magic the Gathering.  He played video games with my kids.  We stayed up until the ass crack of dawn doing these things and just being stupid.  Where was my husband during all this?  At work and so sick from not following the advice of his doctors and taking his meds and not being proactive about his medical care that he was so detached from his family and being such an ass that me and the kids could have moved to Canada and it would have taken him at least two weeks to notice.  I wish I was joking, but I am not.  I had lived with this for a good number of years and it just kept getting progressively worse.  I had finally decided after years of fighting about it that it was no longer my problem.  He’s finally gotten his shit together and had a few more ignored medical problems diagnosed so he’s finally a normal human being again that people want to be around.  Anyway, it’s not like I haven’t shared my neti pot with Kris in the past.  His seasonal and environmental allergies are as bad, if not worse, than mine and I refuse to let a friend die on my watch.  They can be cleaned, right?  Well, when Kris showed up a couple weeks ago asking if we had any allergy meds and stuff for a sinus infection/cold my husband told him to keep my neti pot when I said he could borrow it.  Never mind that I need it where I can use my CPAP at night.  Last night I gave up trying to breathe and sent my husband after another one.  I mean, I haven’t slept more than four hours a night over the last several weeks.

The lack of sleep, whatever it’s cause, I am sure isn’t doing my blood pressure any good.  It’s been wavering between the pre-hypertension and stage 1 hypertension area over the last week.  Yesterday it spiked at 150/100.  I can’t get into see my doctor until next week so I ended up going to an urgent care clinic.  There I was told I probably needed to see a cardiologist.  Made the appointment today.  I go next week.

So, while my husband was out at CVS replacing my neti pot, my daughter told me that there was a new zodiac sign.  My question, “Is it that one sign again?”  I have a really hard time pronouncing Ophiuchus.  I just can’t remember how it’s done and always have to look it up.  In case you are reading this and wondering how it’s pronounced, it’s OFF-ee-YOO-kuss.  The sign and constellation is the only one in the zodiac that relates to a real person who lived, Imhotep.

Now, every so often Ophiuchus comes up.  A small number of stars in the constellation has always crossed the celestial equator but it was never an official zodiac sign since the entire constellation doesn’t sit on there, or something like that.  The bottom line is that there isn’t enough of the constellation on the celestial equator for it to matter.  Now some astronomer has come along and decided to rattle everyone’s cage by bringing attention to it and stating that it should be a zodiac sign.  This isn’t the first time that’s been said and it probably won’t be the last.  This time around it’s just gotten more attention because of who said it, how things are taken out of context and passed around the net.  It made CNN and The Huffington Post.  This time it’s news.

The seasons, the zodiac and so much more has more closely followed the lunar calendar than the Gregorian one which hangs on our wall.  I suspect that the Gregorian calendar doesn’t follow the lunar cycle, which I remember being told in school it was based on the moon cycle, is because an actual lunar calendar would be too pagan.  We can’t have that so we have 12 months instead of 13 and that has had some baring on the zodiac. having 13 months would also be superstitious, since 13 is supposed to be an unlucky number for whatever reason.  Even in a Tarot deck card number 13 is signified by Death.  Totally rational people tend to hold onto the irrational for whatever reason.  There are hotels that have no floor 13.  This fear of a number is also probably part of the equation as to why there are only 12 months but 13 moon cycles.

People seem more pissed off about a 13th zodiac sign than superstitious about the number 13.  They have always thought they were a Scorpio or Taurus and now they are reading that isn’t what they are.  News stories have gone as far as to say that Ophiuchus has picked the NFL Playoffs and CBS is reporting big name actors that were born under the Serpent Barer (included are Brad Pitt, Brittney Spears, Taylor Swift and Christiana Aguilera).  Do we really care?  Is this really news?  All this because some astronomer went on about the earth’s axis wobbling (seriously, is this new news?) and how the sky looks different now than it did 10,000 years ago because of that.   In some respect it’s all bullshit because the stars haven’t changed, only how we view them has.  Ophiuchus has always had the stars that make up his feet located between the constellations of Sagittarius and Scorpio.  In fact, his one foot appears to be stepping on Scorpio.  That has not changed and the part Ophiuchus has played in astrology has been debated for years.

There is some international astrology group, who’s  name escapes me at the moment, who decides on what is “official” for astrology.    The addition of Ophiuchus to the offical zodiac would fall under their jurisdiction and I don’t foresee them changing things anytime soon.  It’s too much of a hassle and Ophiuchus has been ignored this long so why suddenly officially change things just because everyone is up in arms because “the sky changed.”

