So much for blogging EVERY day.  I do have an excuse though.  Yesterday was errand day and we were gone most of the day.  Almost as soon as we came home I fell asleep.  In fact, I actually fell asleep on my computer for a bit before I laid down on the couch.  I didn’t even eat my dinner.  I can’t believe how much energy everything takes of late.  The cold zaps my energy.  Running errands zaps my energy, even if it’s a quick trip to the store.  Pain zaps my energy and I am not feeling any better since my fall down the stairs.  I have this huge ugly red and purple bruise on my arm that almost looks like it’s part of my tattoo.

It hurts like hell and it’s in one of those spots that it’s always getting bumped.  I really hope that the tattoo recovers okay.  Not only is it bruised but I am missing a layer of skin.  Originally I thought I had rug burn but it turns out it’s a scratch and a bruise where my arm hit the railing.  No carpet involved.  Rest of me still hurts too, especially my hip.  Pain meds aren’t helping much.

I spent the day updating things that I tend to ignore on blogs, like keeping links updated.  I also added a menu to The Sims Weekly World News where it’s easy to navigate.

So, I have a number of thoughts for the day.  I had a brief chat with Chris Flick today in the comments of his web comic Capes and Babes.  I love this comic.  It’s one of the funniest things on the web, if you ask me but you have to be a bit of a geek to understand some of the jokes.  Anyway, today is his autistic son’s birthday and he asked everyone to stop and think a bit about autism today and how it affects those who are touched by it.  I wouldn’t say we are so much touched by autism as we are punched in the face by it, but that’s not really important.

What autism has taught me is patience.  My husband laughs when I say this because I rarely have any patience when dealing with anyone outside of our family.  It’s true.  I don’t have patience for stupid any more.  I yelled at the CPAP repair guy when I had him on the phone.  My CPAP has an issue, the ramp quit working all together, so if I use it the air pressure never comes up.  Not only that, sometimes it shuts off all by itself while it’s in use.  Our insurance won’t pay for another one until August and when I originally had this guy on the phone he told me I would have to bring it in for repairs after talking me through troubleshooting it.  I went through the same crap with him that I go through with 99% of everyone I talk to in customer service or tech support on the phone.  I have boobs so everyone automatically assumes that I am stupid and treats me as such.  It pisses me off.  I told this guy that the machine wasn’t doing what he said it should when I followed his directions so he automatically assumed I was doing it wrong.  And he wonders why I got pissed off at him.  I am not stupid.  Granted, some days because of the fibro I have “blonde moments” but it seriously pisses me off that people just assume because I am female I am an idiot.  It’s either that or people have the attitude of “you don’t have my job therefore you can’t possibly understand anything I am saying to you about it.”  Not sure which it really is.  What I do know is no one treats my husband like that so I can only assume it’s because I have boobs.

The other thing that autism, along with all the other medical conditions my kids have, has taught me is what is important in life.  I can’t relate to everyone in the grocery store who is in a hurry to get in and out of the store and therefore are rude to everyone.  I can’t relate to the self-centeredness of those people I deal with every time I go in the store who are inconvenienced because I walk slow and because I have to actually stop and read food labels.  I have no patience for people who feel their cell phone conversations are more important than what they are doing, even if they cause inconvenience to others, like when the person on the cell phone nearly causes a traffic accident or hits you with a grocery cart.  The world does not revolve around me and I do not have the time, patience or understanding for those who feel that the world revolves around them.  I want more than anything to be allowed to beat that attitude out of people because it would make the world a much more pleasant place for me.

All this brings me to someone who recently visited my blog.  I always check out the blogs of people who visit and comment.  I mean, if someone finds my blog worth reading there is a good chance that we will have something in common.  The blog in question is 365 Days of Gratitude.  I think, after my brief exchange with Chris Flick about autism, today was one of those days that I needed to find a blog like this to remind me that no matter how bad things are or appear to be, there is so much to be grateful for and to remind me of the things that I try to tell people and make them understand.

I mean, recently I went off on people on the Sims 3 Facebook page about being insulting and forgetting that the idea of the Facebook page EA created was where people could share the fun they are having with their game with other people and the negativity does nothing but ruin other peoples fun and proves to be nothing but discouraging for those learning how to make their own content for the game.  I really don’t have the time, patience or need to deal with negativity or drama.  There are so many other things in life to focus on.  Things that are more productive.  Things that serve a purpose.

Seriously, if I want instant gratification I will eat M&M’s.  Everything else in life that is worth anything you have to work for.  It’s even the same for my Sims.  Recently I found myself with a Sim named Gian who became self employed as a gardener.  I had him work very hard in his garden until all of his plants were perfect.  He completed all the goals that were set for him by the restaurant in town.  Finally he was given the coveted Omni Plant seeds that he was working so hard for.  Omni plants grow whatever you feed them be it books, fish, waffles or something else all together.  No sooner had Gian planted his seeds and went on to harvest his cheese plants (yes, in the Sims you get cheese plants) he died.  I was sad for this electronic game guy who worked so hard and never got to see what he worked for come into fruition.

I often feel that life is like this.

