I have hated grocery shopping for a while now.  It came with the food allergies and having to read every label.  57 foods is a lot to keep track of but it’s important to keeping everyone alive in this house.  The worst part of it is though reading labels.  There are so many people in the store at one given time and they are all in a hurry.  I am sorry that I can not afford to be in a hurry and that I have to read every label in the store.

Now we are trying to cut down on our grocery bill a bit.  Buying gluten free and organic foods adds quite a bit to the grocery bill.  I know some people think that when companies throw the words organic and natural on things it’s a marketing ploy at best.  The thing is, I have found that there is a very good chance that my kids can eat these foods because they don’t contain as many additives and preservatives or high fructose corn syrup.  I have a child that is horribly allergic to corn in all it’s forms including corn starch and corn syrup.  I have also discovered that Kosher foods are also good choices for us.  Feeding seven kids is hard enough without the added burden that food allergies puts on the grocery bill.

I just spent a good deal of time going through sales circulars and tracking down and cutting out coupons.  Not that there are a lot of coupons available for products we use but I am determined to cut down on the grocery bill.  It’s eating us alive and my husband doesn’t help matters.  He gets in these moods where he doesn’t want to go shopping and we end up going to the store like every night.  It’s really too much on my body and we are spending way to much money doing that.  We also tend to buy more at the store now that he is shopping with me.

Wish me luck.

Oh, and as a side note, I hurt like hell today from falling down the stairs.  It hurts to move just about any part of my body and I won’t even get into the hip pain.

