Gluten-free Bisquick.  Yes, you heard me right.  This makes my life so much easier.

About a month ago while reading the ingredients on gluten-free pancake mixes I  made the comment that gluten-free Bisquick would be so much easier.  There is an art to using gluten-free flours.  To much rice flour and things turn out grainy.  It’s like eating sand.  To much of another flour and things taste funny.  To much of yet another flour and everything has the consistency of rubber.    Gluten is such magical stuff when it comes to baking and when you have to feed a family members with celiac disease you have to figure out how to do it without gluten.  It’s a lot of trial and error until you get it figured out.

Bisquick has always been synonymous with almost idiot-proof baking.  People who claim they can’t bake can use Bisquick.  The thing is, I can bake and I have a very hard time with gluten-free flours so I am horribly excited to find almost idiot-proof baking in a box.  I did get a little too excited when my daughter found it and handed me the box and I got a few weird looks from people.  This doesn’t matter though, there is gluten-free Bisquick in the world!  More important than idiot-proof baking this means that the gluten-free diet is becoming an accepted fact of life, and dare I say it…mainstream.  This means public acceptance of people who are on special diets either by choice or force because of medical issues.

10 years ago it was difficult for people with celiac disease to find food they could eat.  Hell, five years ago when my daughter was diagnosed gluten-free foods were difficult to find.  Since that day I have seen so many new products come on the market and grocery stories making space for them on the shelves next to their standard counterpart.  Somewhere along the line big business realized that it’s only going to increase their bottom line to carry special foods that the diet impaired can eat.  It also means that they have become aware of this previously unmet need.

And today I find gluten-free Bisquick.  Bisquick.  Everyone knows what Bisquick is and my bet is that almost everyone has used it at one time or another.  For many it’s a kitchen staple right next to the regular flour.  Can you tell that I am excited about this?

Now to figure out what to do with my egg allergic daughter who asked if she can have pecan pie after Thanksgiving dinner.  Do you know how many eggs are in that stuff?  I really don’t want to have to call out the paramedics on Thanksgiving because someone has gone into anaphylaxis from eating something they shouldn’t.  We have done the holiday allergy near-death thing before in the past and I really don’t want to repeat it.  It doesn’t make for a fun holiday.   It will most defiantly kill my joy from finding gluten-free Bisquick.

Oh yes, I get very excited over new food finds like this.  Get used to it.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!

