Today I am reminded why I don’t read womens’ magazines.  There is very little in them contained in them, even in their online versions, that I consider worth reading.  Between all the make up and fashion ads, these magazines offer very little of value.  I really don’t care about what is going on the lives of celebrities, nor do I require fashion advice on what to wear based on Hollywood and Fashion Week.  Nor do I have the money to replace my wardrobe every month based on what a magazine says I should be wearing because it’s in or because all the cool kids are doing it.   Several months ago I picked up an issue of Cosmo (something I have never done) because of an interview with Pink.  I was horribly disappointed.  It was really a sorry excuse for an interview.  Inked Magazine ran a much better, not to mention more intelligent, interview with her earlier in the year (at least I think it was earlier this year, my concept of time sucks).  Cosmo, I have noticed, also claims that every issue is their “biggest sex issue yet”.

Now, thanks partly to CNN, another frivolous piece of shit magazine that doesn’t offer up anything of value to society, Marie Claire, has taken issue with fat people.   This all started with CNN talking about overweight celebrities, how they are portrayed on TV, and how people react to them.  Maybe I am being a little rough on Marie Claire, but after reading their biased article full fat discrimination you can’t convince me otherwise.

Let’s get in our Wayback Machines a moment and travel back to the fall of 1992 when I started college.  I was 21 years old and weighed all of 88 lbs.  Society, Hollywood and fashion designers dictate that we all need to be a size 3.  I wasn’t even a size O.  I had to go shopping for jeans in the children’s department.  Worse yet I wore a 32DD bra!  I love how people say that nature doesn’t give petite/small women large breasts naturally.  Five feet tall, 88 lbs and I wore a 32DD bra at 21.  All through high school I was accused of being anorexic.   My husband likes to tell a story of how, when we were dating back in 1991 that he took me out to eat at an all you can eat seafood thing and I had left 8 empty plates on the table.  All I did was eat and my metabolism refused to let me gain any weight.  It’s just how it was.

Keep this in mind as you read this because it proves that I am not jealous of those with perfect bodies, I have had one.  Then I had children.  I was also given a Depo Provera shot between two of my pregnancies to help with endometriosis pain I was having.  That shot gave me the worst migraine of my life until it wore off three months later.  It created painful lumps in my breasts and it did other bad things to my body.  After the birth of my fourth child my weight didn’t bounce back any more.  I had finally gained, and kept on, the weight my doctor told me I needed to gain where I wouldn’t be underweight any more.  The downside was, no matter what I did I was unable to loose any of the baby weight from any other pregnancies.

Seven pregnancies also did bad things to my back and aggravated mild scoliosis that hadn’t given me too many problems prior.  My orthopedist told me that my right hip was an inch higher than my left one and I walked with a limp because of it.  It wasn’t long before I needed a cane because the pain from the stress put on that right hip from being out of alignment was so bad I couldn’t support my own weight.  With only a 23 degree curvature my back isn’t considered bad enough to operate on so I live on pain medication.  Not only is walking painful and nearly impossible without a cane, exercise is out of the question.  Now add hypothyroidism to that.

Yes, I am now overweight, by about 80 lbs.  Granted, I am not as overweight as some people and I get annoyed when I am having a bad pain day between my hip and fibro that I need a motorized cart in the grocery store and they are all taken by people so heavy they can’t walk on their own.  However, I am still overweight.

Now consider the fact that my husband is also overweight.  A problem that started a couple years after we were married because of untreated hypothyroidism.  His endocrine system has slowly gone to hell over the years and he’s developed related problems including hypogonadism, severe sleep apnea and celiac disease.

Remember when I wrote that there are 56 food allergies in my house?  This means no processed foods because of allergies.  98% of the food that comes into the house is fresh meat, fruit and vegetables.  No high fructose corn syrup, no wheat (bread, pasta, cakes, cookies, etc).  We don’t have the normal junk food and processed foods in the house that make up the typical American diet.  We also don’t eat fast food.  We can’t.  And yet, we are still overweight through no fault of our own.

Still, we are subjected to fat hate.  People assume that we are overweight because we eat junk food, because we don’t take care of ourselves and people make rude comments.  Then there is crap written like what is in Marie Claire.  To quote, “I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other … because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything. To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room.” To the author of this article, Maura Kelly, this says a lot more about you and your issues than it does about any overweight person.  For every step that anyone takes to promote acceptance, articles like this one printed in Marie Claire set back almost everything anyone has accomplished.  Not everyone can look like Barbie and Ken and yet over and over society tells us that is the only way we will have full acceptance.

I have news for people, you can eat a perfect or near perfect diet and exercise regularly and still be overweight.   By the same token you can be skinny/lean or whatever you want to call it and have high cholesterol and high blood pressure.  Weight is not an indicator of someone’s overall health and people like Maura Kelly need to stop saying it is.  If you read the article she states that the two overweight people on the TV show that brought all this up can’t be healthy just because they are fat.   She has also offered up nutrition and exercise advice to anyone who wants it.  So, we are supposed to take this advice from someone who is not only not qualified to give it (she’s a writer, not a nutritionist), but from someone who wants everyone to be thin because then she won’t have to be disgusted watching fat people kiss or walk across the room. Sorry, I am not going to change anything about myself because a self-righteous, judgmental who has issues she or he hasn’t dealt with  is uncomfortable with who and what I am.

