I really like the new Magic the Gathering cycle, Scars of Mirrodon.  Makes me wonder what Mirrodon Besieged is going to be like.  I suspect it’s going to be epic because the full set is available for pre-order to the cost of  almost $1,200.

Infect is brutal and metalcraft is awesome, especially since I like playing with artifacts.  My biggest complaint is that I have a bad habit of putting a lot of cards in a deck.  The one thing that stops me from adding more is I run out of sleeves to protect them.  I cut down every one of my decks between 60 and 65 cards and now that Scars has come out, they are back up between 70 and 80.  There is just so much good stuff that I don’t know what to remove.  To make that more difficult, I just ordered 16 copies of Grafted Exoskeleton from MTGMintCard.  I just found out  that this card went up $.20 since I purchased it on Friday.  WOW!  It is an awesome card and it’s still more expensive at my local game store.  Two more copies are going in my Dragon Deck.  Grafted Exoskeleton in combination with Tatsumasa, the Dragon’s Fang is going to be a killer combination.  Hoarding Dragon and Tatsumasa alone have won me games.  Now, if only I could get my hands on a copy or two of Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon my life, at least as it pertains to Magic at the moment, would be complete.

Four copies of Grafted Exoskeleton need to go in my Artifact/Proliferate deck.   Despite being another large deck it tends to win games quickly enough.  This deck started out as a normal artifact deck that I was always changing artifacts around in.  Volatic Key has been in and out of the deck more times than I can count (it’s back in) along with Overflowing Chalice (back in also).   I love how Overflowing Chalice works with the Energy Chamber.  Things get big quickly in a proliferate deck so I figure throwing a Grafted Exoskeleton on a big creature or even Scrapdiver Serpent could be a game winner.  Artifact walk is an awesome concept and I hope we see more of it in the following blocks.

The same theory is going behind adding four copies to my Ajani Pridemate deck.  I have really abused the gain life concept behind it and more than once Ajani’s Pridemate has gotten as large as a 25/25 creature.  I have a friend who was bragging about how poison counters were going to be the solution to my Ajani deck since things get out of control with it quickly.  Grafted Exoskeleton should even the playing field there.  Not sure what I want to do with the other copies just yet.  I am sure I will find a spot for them…or my kids will.

