A couple weeks ago my husband and I attended the Rockstar Energy Uproar Festival.  The second I found out that Avenged Sevenfold was playing  I *had* to go.   Avenged Sevenfold has become my favorite band.  I am not sure how or when that came about, it wasn’t a conscience decision that I recall making.  Back when Bat Country was released I remember getting Avenged Sevenfold and Sevendust mixed up when they came on the radio only because they both had the word seven in their names.  Lame, I know.  The difference is now I own every Avenged Sevenfold album and I can’t even remember the name of a single Sevendust single.  I can’t say that I am one of those obsessive fans that has a Deathbat tattoo.  The reason is I can’t decide where to have the tattoo placed on my body…

Originally my husband tried to talk me out of going to an all day music festival because I would still be in the end recovery phase of my surgery but enough obsessing about it and he gave in with the caveat that I wasn’t allowed to get mosh pit tickets.  Fair enough.  Our neighbor friend, Kris, went with us and he took some pretty cool pictures and a couple videos.  I took my camera and got some pictures that I ended up deleting without looking at when the kids needed a SD card for the Wii.  Doesn’t matter, Kris’s camera had a zoom on it that mine didn’t and his pictures were better.  I haven’t gone through all of the 200+ pictures he took yet, but here are some of them, mostly of Avenged Sevenfold. (Click for larger pictures)

Halestorm – a band that I was only vaguely familiar with going into the concert.   I think they have one song that has gotten radio airplay.  Anyway, they put on an awesome show and I really need to make my way to Hot Topic to pick up their album.

Stone Sour – a band I knew nothing about but they are awesome and I also plan on picking up their album.  How backwards is that?  Normally people buy the album (or illegally download it, let’s be honest here) and then go to see the band in concert.

Avenged Sevenfold – this is the reason I went to the concert.  They put on an awesome show and I regret not going to see them during their last tour before they lost Rev.  Speaking of Rev, they did a very touching tribute to him mid-set.

Here is a live video Kris took with his camera of the opening performance of Nightmare (hopefully YouTube won’t get a bug up their asses and remove it for whatever reason they imagine the video might be against their TOS).  He moved between the stage and the large screen projector set up for some close up shots of the band.  If you watch closely, you almost can’t tell what is going on in the video, a drum stick goes flying over Mike Portney’s head.  No, he did not throw it, it actually broke.  He continued to play for a few seconds with the broken stick before dropping it and using his hand.  I was watching but didn’t see when he replaced the stick.  All this happened without him missing a note.  I thought it was pretty impressive and made for an awesome stage show on his part, even if it was accidental.  Oh, and yes, that is a real person hanging above the stage by a noose.  Talk about making an entrance!

Disturbed – I was kind of disappointed with them.  Don’t get me wrong, I like Disturbed and I think Phil Collins only wishes he had made Land of Confusion as cool as the remake is (however, the original video still makes me laugh).  The thing is, these bands had played five nights in a row with no time off to rest their vocal cords and that was painfully obvious in Don’s voice.  He did his best but he really sounded tired.  Kris had made a big deal out of telling us about other times he had seen Disturbed in concert and about how they put on an awesome stage show.  After the awesomeness of A7X, we were all wondering how they were going to top them since they were obviously very capable, and it didn’t happen.  Most everything that made up their stage show was projected onto the screens behind them.  The only thing I can compare it to is the disappointment between seeing ZZ Top back in the 80’s during their Afterburner Tour and the awesome laser light show they put on to seeing them at Jiffy Lube Live/Nissan Pavilion last year when they opened for Aerosmith, expecting great awesomeness based on that performance, and the stage show being downgraded to images on a projector.

Overall, it was an awesome show and I am glad that we went, despite my almost instantaneous dehydration that took place within the first 10 minutes of being at the event.  I blame the fact that it was nearly 100 degrees out and I am still somewhat recovering from surgery and still adapting to everything that has come with surgery.  We ended up spending the first part of the festival sitting in a shady grassy spot next to the first aid station.  We could hear the bands on the Jagermeister Stage but couldn’t see them.  From where we were, they sounded pretty good.  Wish I could have caught more of the performances.  My spot on the grass allowed for some people watching.  There is always a cast of characters at concerts.  It’s a good part of the ambiance that you experience.   I just haven’t figured out the guy in the lime green Superfan Suit.

